These gold IRA reviews cover all ten companies we rate for 2026, side by side: our editorial score, the account minimum, how each firm charges, its live Better Business Bureau file, its Trustpilot profile, and who it actually suits. Every company review below links to a full write-up, and where we have built them, a fee breakdown and a legitimacy check. The ranking order matches our 2026 list of the best gold IRA companies.
Most gold IRA company reviews online stop at a star average. Ours go one step further and show you how to read the customer reviews themselves: which platforms let a company choose who reviews it, what a BBB letter grade does and does not measure, and why the way a firm answers its complaints says more than the complaint count.
Advertising disclosure: Gold IRA Consulting is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you open an account through some links on this page (marked sponsored). This never changes a score or the order below.
One row per company, in score order. The BBB column is the letter grade plus the number of complaints the bureau shows as closed in the last three years, read from each live profile on October 5, 2026. Fee details marked Jun 2026 come from our earlier fee checks; everything else in the fee column was re-read on the company's own site this month.
| # | COMPANY | SCORE | MINIMUM | FEE MODEL | BBB SNAPSHOT | BEST FOR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Birch Gold Group | 9.8 | $5,000* | Flat: $50 setup, $30 wire, then $110 storage and insurance plus $125 management a year; first-year fees paid by Birch on new accounts over $50,000 | A+, accredited 2013; 9 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Most investors; published pricing |
| 2 | Augusta Precious Metals | 9.6 | ~$50,000 | Fee sheet: $50 setup, $125 custodian, $100 storage a year; a waiver of up to 10 years is advertised by third-party sites, not on Augusta's fee sheet | A+, accredited 2015; 1 complaint closed in 3 yrs | $50k+ accounts that want education |
| 3 | Goldco | 9.4 | ~$25,000 | Flat annual (Jun 2026); 5% free silver on $50,000 to $99,999, 10% at $100,000+ | A+, accredited 2011; 72 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Buyback and promotions |
| 4 | American Hartford Gold | 9.2 | ~$10,000 | About $180 a year all-in, no liquidation fee (Jun 2026); Equity Trust named as custodian | A+, accredited 2016; 111 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Low annual cost |
| 5 | Noble Gold Investments | 8.8 | $20,000 | Flat: $50 setup, $30 wire, $125 maintenance and $160 storage a year | A+, accredited 2017; 3 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Choice of Texas or Delaware vault |
| 6 | American Bullion | 8.6 | ~$10,000 | STRATA custodian schedule; year-one storage and account fees waived on $50,000+ | A+, accredited 2011; 0 complaints closed in 3 yrs | First-time rollovers |
| 7 | Advantage Gold | 8.5 | Not published* | Flat annual via STRATA Trust or Equity Trust; amount not published on its site | A+, accredited 2014; 0 complaints closed in 3 yrs | New metals investors |
| 8 | Orion Metal Exchange | 8.4 | ~$5,000 | Not published on its site; quoted by its IRA department | A+, accredited 2021; 2 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Small balances |
| 9 | Lear Capital | 8.2 | ~$10,000 | $315 first year, $235 after; 1 to 3 years free from $25,000 | A+, accredited 1997; 33 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Longest operating history |
| 10 | Patriot Gold Group | 8.1 | ~$25,000 | No Fees for Life on qualifying IRAs; qualifying minimum not stated | A+, accredited 2022; 0 complaints closed in 3 yrs | Long holds, dealer-direct |
BBB DATA VERIFIED OCT 2026 ON EACH BBB.ORG PROFILE. *BIRCH'S OWN FAQ STATES A $5,000 MINIMUM FOR IRA AND CASH PURCHASES ALIKE (VERIFIED OCT 2026), REPLACING THE ROUGHLY $10,000 OUR DATASET CARRIED. ADVANTAGE GOLD PUBLISHES NO MINIMUM; THIRD-PARTY REVIEWS CITE $5,000 TO ABOUT $25,000. MINIMUMS SHOWN WITH ~ ARE APPROXIMATE AND SET BY EACH DEALER, NOT THE IRS. SCORES ARE GOLD IRA CONSULTING EDITORIAL RATINGS.
Our top pick overall: a published flat schedule ($50 setup, $30 wire, $110 storage and insurance, $125 management), first-year fees paid by Birch on new accounts over $50,000, and the lowest complaint volume of the four largest firms we rank.
Education-first service, Delaware Depository storage and flat fees printed on its own fee sheet ($225 a year after a $275 first year). The up-to-ten-year waiver that review sites advertise is not on that sheet, so get it in writing. One BBB complaint closed in three years, the quietest file on this page.
A strong buyback commitment and a free-silver promotion (5% back on $50,000 to $99,999, 10% at $100,000 or more). The trade-off is the second-largest BBB complaint file of the ten.
Roughly $180 a year all-in, a $10,000 entry point and no liquidation fee. It also carries the largest BBB complaint file we track, so read the complaint texts before you sign.
A published $20,000 minimum, a published fee table ($125 annual maintenance plus $160 storage) and a Texas depository option almost no competitor offers.
Rollover-focused onboarding with free storage and $0 account fees in year one, but only on $50,000 or more placed with STRATA and the Delaware Depository. Very thin review volume for a firm this old.
Patient onboarding for first allocations, with STRATA Trust or Equity Trust as custodian and Brink's or the Delaware Depository for storage. Nearly 2,000 Trustpilot reviews behind its average.
The lowest entry point we rank, an in-house IRA department, and the fastest typical reply to negative reviews on Trustpilot. Its fee schedule is not published on its website.
BBB-accredited since 1997, with a published IRA fee ($315 first year, $235 after) and waivers of one to three years from $25,000. It also has the heaviest court and regulator file of any firm we cover.
Dealer-direct pricing and No Fees for Life on qualifying IRAs, though the qualifying minimum is not stated on its IRA page. No BBB complaints closed in three years.
BBB FIGURES VERIFIED OCT 5, 2026. FEES MARKED JUN 2026 ARE FROM OUR EARLIER CHECKS; CONFIRM CURRENT PRICING WITH EACH COMPANY.
Once a shortlist is down to one or two names, two questions decide it: what the account costs per year, and whether the firm can be trusted with retirement money. These pages answer each one company at a time.
Every company on this page is scored against one fixed rubric, applied the same way to each provider, so the ratings are comparable rather than impressionistic. The four pillars and their weights are public, and the full list of evidence we collect sits on our How We Rank page. Affiliate compensation does not change a score; partner links are marked rel="sponsored" and live separately from our editorial judgment.
Reputation is the pillar this page expands on, because it is the one readers arrive with a question about rather than an opinion. The two sections below explain how we read the public review record, then lay out what that record shows for each company as of October 2026.
Four places hold almost all public gold IRA customer reviews: the Better Business Bureau, Trustpilot, Google business listings and aggregator sites such as ConsumerAffairs. They measure different things, and the averages they display are close to useless on their own. Nine of the ten companies we review sit between 4.7 and 5.0 on Trustpilot. When every firm scores near the ceiling, the average stops separating good firms from weak ones, and the useful signal moves into the details.
The BBB letter grade is the bureau's opinion of how a business is likely to deal with customers, built from complaint history, type of business, time in business, transparency, licensing, advertising issues and any failure to honor commitments to the BBB. The BBB states plainly that customer reviews are not used in the letter-grade calculation, and that a rating is not a guarantee of reliability. All ten companies below hold an A+, so the grade alone cannot rank them. What can: the complaint count against the size of the business, and the text of the complaints and replies. Open the complaints tab and read ten or fifteen of them. You are looking for whether the company answered the specific grievance, whether the customer accepted the answer, and whether the same issue (coin premiums, slow buybacks, missing statements) keeps coming back.
Trustpilot shows, on each company profile, whether the business invites customers to review it. A company that invites every customer, positive or negative, tends to produce a more representative sample than one where reviews arrive only when a sales representative asks a happy client to post. When a company has not invited customers recently, Trustpilot adds a note that its reviews may not be representative. Seven of the ten profiles we checked in October 2026 carried that note; Augusta Precious Metals, Noble Gold and Lear Capital were the three marked as inviting all customers. Two more numbers on the same profile matter more than the average: the share of negative reviews the company replied to, and how quickly.
Google reviews attach to an office listing, so they skew toward the customers a local branch dealt with and are easy to leave at the moment of sale. Aggregators such as ConsumerAffairs are businesses with their own commercial relationships, and each publishes how listed companies relate to the platform; read that disclosure before treating an aggregator score as independent. Neither source is useless, but neither should outweigh a complaint file you have read yourself.
Every dealer collects complaints. What separates them is the reply. A good response names the order, explains the price or the delay in plain numbers, and states what the company did. A weak one is a template thanking the customer for their feedback and inviting them to call. When you read a complaint file, count how many replies contain an actual figure or date. That ratio tells you how the firm will treat you when something goes wrong, which is the only time service really matters.
Gold IRA testimonials published by the company itself are marketing, chosen by the company. Treat them the way you treat a celebrity endorsement, which we cover in our look at paid gold IRA spokespeople: as evidence that the firm has an advertising budget, not evidence about your outcome.
BBB columns come from each company's BBB.org profile and Trustpilot columns from each company's Trustpilot profile, both read on October 5, 2026. "Complaints closed" is the BBB's own count for the last three years. Every company name links to its live BBB file so you can check the numbers yourself; they move week to week.
| COMPANY | BBB GRADE | BBB ACCREDITED SINCE | COMPLAINTS CLOSED, 3 YRS | BBB CUSTOMER REVIEWS | TRUSTPILOT SCORE (REVIEWS) | INVITES ALL CUSTOMERS? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birch Gold Group | A+ | Jul 22, 2013 | 9 | 228 | 4.7 (328) | No recent invitations |
| Augusta Precious Metals | A+ | Feb 17, 2015 | 1 | 136 | 4.8 (372) | Yes |
| Goldco | A+ | Dec 9, 2011 | 72 | 1,714 | 4.4 (1,790) | No recent invitations |
| American Hartford Gold | A+ | Jun 3, 2016 | 111 | 818 | 4.8 (1,928) | No recent invitations |
| Noble Gold Investments | A+ | Jan 23, 2017 | 3 | 242 | 4.9 (796) | Yes |
| American Bullion | A+ | Mar 15, 2011 | 0 | 12 | 4.9 (218) | No recent invitations |
| Advantage Gold | A+ | Aug 8, 2014 | 0 | 10 | 4.8 (1,920) | No recent invitations |
| Orion Metal Exchange | A+ | Mar 9, 2021 | 2 | 27 | 4.8 (236) | No recent invitations |
| Lear Capital | A+ | Sep 19, 1997 | 33 | 149 | 4.7 (3,285) | Yes |
| Patriot Gold Group | A+ | Apr 22, 2022 | 0 | 80 | 5.0 (702) | No recent invitations |
VERIFIED OCT 5, 2026. TRUSTPILOT SCORES ARE THE PLATFORM'S OWN TRUSTSCORE OUT OF 5, NOT A GOLD IRA CONSULTING RATING.
Birch Gold Group. Nine complaints closed in three years against 228 BBB reviews is a light file for a firm of its size, and it replied to every negative Trustpilot review, though Trustpilot puts its typical reply time at more than a month. The full record, including federal court filings, is in our Birch legitimacy check.
Augusta Precious Metals. One closed complaint in three years is the quietest BBB file of the ten, and it is one of only three firms here that invites every customer to review on Trustpilot. The public questions about its coin premiums are covered in whether Augusta holds up to scrutiny; read that before you rely on the clean file alone.
Goldco. Seventy-two complaints closed in three years is the second-largest file here, but it sits against 1,714 BBB reviews, so the complaint rate per customer who spoke up is lower than the raw number suggests. Its Trustpilot TrustScore of 4.4 is the lowest of the ten. Its litigation history is explained in our Goldco legitimacy review.
American Hartford Gold. The heaviest BBB complaint file we track, 111 closed in three years, paired with a strong Trustpilot average. The detail that matters for service: Trustpilot shows it replied to 11% of negative reviews, against 80% to 100% for most of the firms here. Our American Hartford Gold complaint analysis reads the themes.
Noble Gold Investments. Three complaints closed in three years, 242 BBB reviews, a 4.9 TrustScore from 796 reviews, and an invite-everyone review policy. On reputation alone this is one of the cleanest records on the page; our Noble Gold legitimacy check covers the corporate side.
American Bullion. No complaints closed in three years, but only 12 BBB reviews and 2 Trustpilot reviews in the last twelve months. A clean file built on very little evidence is not the same as a proven one.
Advantage Gold. No complaints closed in three years and only 10 BBB reviews, but nearly 2,000 Trustpilot reviews with replies to 80% of negative ones. Our Advantage Gold legitimacy check goes through the rest of the record.
Orion Metal Exchange. Two closed complaints, accreditation only since 2021, and the fastest stated reply time on Trustpilot (typically within 48 hours, 100% of negative reviews answered).
Lear Capital. The longest accreditation on this page, back to September 1997, and a busy, invite-everyone Trustpilot profile with 3,285 reviews. It also has 33 complaints closed in three years and the heaviest court and regulator history of any firm we cover, set out in our Lear Capital legitimacy record.
Patriot Gold Group. No complaints closed in three years and a 5.0 TrustScore with essentially no negative reviews. That is an excellent file, but Trustpilot notes the company has not invited customers recently, so treat the near-perfect average as a sample of satisfied buyers rather than of all buyers.
Customer service in a gold IRA is tested twice: during the rollover, when a plan administrator stalls, and at the sale, when you want a fair bid quickly. Neither moment shows up in a star average. The closest public proxy is how a company behaves toward the customers who are already unhappy, so we compared the reply behavior each Trustpilot profile reports alongside the BBB complaint count.
| COMPANY | NEGATIVE TRUSTPILOT REVIEWS ANSWERED | TYPICAL REPLY TIME | BBB COMPLAINTS CLOSED, 3 YRS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 100% | Within 48 hours | 33 |
| Orion Metal Exchange | 100% | Within 48 hours | 2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 100% | Within 2 weeks | 1 |
| Noble Gold Investments | 100% | Not stated | 3 |
| Goldco | 100% | About 1 month | 72 |
| Birch Gold Group | 100% | Over 1 month | 9 |
| Advantage Gold | 80% | Within 2 weeks | 0 |
| American Hartford Gold | 11% | Not stated | 111 |
| Patriot Gold Group | No negative reviews to answer | n/a | 0 |
| American Bullion | Not shown on profile | Not shown | 0 |
SOURCE: EACH COMPANY'S TRUSTPILOT AND BBB.ORG PROFILE, READ OCT 5, 2026.
On these signals, Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold make the strongest case for service: tiny complaint files, every negative review answered, and a review policy that does not filter who gets asked. Orion and Lear answer fastest. American Hartford Gold is the clear outlier in the other direction, pairing the largest complaint file with the lowest reply rate, which is worth weighing against its low annual cost. None of this replaces your own test: before you fund an account, ask each shortlisted firm the same three questions from our checklist of questions to ask a gold IRA company, in writing, and see who answers with numbers.
Service also includes the exit. A company's buyback commitment is only as good as the bid it actually quotes, which our guide to gold IRA buyback programs shows you how to test before you buy. If you are moving a 401(k), our gold IRA rollover reviews compare how each company handles the paperwork and the timeline.
A gold IRA's annual fees are easy to find. The bigger expense is usually invisible: the dealer markup, or spread, between the spot price of metal and the price you actually pay. On common bullion this might be a few percent; on "exclusive" or proof coins it can run far higher and is much harder to recover when you sell. We weight pricing transparency at 30 percent precisely because a low storage fee means little if the spread on your coins quietly erases years of returns. Ask any company for its buy price and its current buyback price on the same product, then compare the gap.
If a salesperson tells you that you can keep IRA gold in a safe at home, walk away. Internal Revenue Code section 408(m)(3) defines the limited bullion and coins an IRA may hold, and the metal must sit with an IRS-approved trustee or depository, not in your house. The IRS has treated personal possession of IRA metals as a taxable distribution, and the Tax Court agreed in McNulty v. Commissioner (2021). "Home storage IRA" and "checkbook LLC" schemes can trigger taxes and penalties, and none of the companies we review rely on that pitch.
A gold IRA is not for everyone. Because physical metal pays no dividend or interest, and because spreads and storage create a cost drag, it suits investors who already hold diversified retirement assets and want a smaller allocation as a hedge. If you have not captured your full employer match, you are carrying high-interest debt, your time horizon is very short, or you would be moving most of your savings into a single asset class, the math rarely favors a gold IRA. Treat it as insurance on a portfolio, not the portfolio itself. Not sure where you land? Our free comparison kit lays out the trade-offs in plain English.
Birch Gold Group is our top-rated company for 2026 at 9.8 out of 10, on a published flat fee schedule, first-year fees paid on new accounts over $50,000, an A+ BBB rating and only 9 complaints closed in three years. Augusta Precious Metals is second at 9.6 and has the cleanest BBB file of the ten (one complaint closed in three years), but a roughly $50,000 minimum. Goldco is third at 9.4. If you mean customer review averages, nearly all ten sit between 4.7 and 5.0 on Trustpilot, so the average alone does not separate them. BBB data verified Oct 2026.
Treat them carefully. Many gold IRA reviews are advertisements that bury the affiliate relationship and never mention the dealer markup over spot, which is usually the largest cost you will pay. Look for sites that disclose compensation clearly (we mark partner links rel="sponsored"), publish a written methodology, link to the live BBB and Trustpilot profiles they quote, and tell you who a company is wrong for, not only who it is right for. For customer reviews, check whether the platform shows that the company invites all customers, and read the complaint replies rather than the average.
On October 5, 2026, American Bullion, Advantage Gold and Patriot Gold Group each showed zero complaints closed in the last three years on their BBB profiles, and Augusta Precious Metals showed one. Treat a zero carefully when review volume is also small: American Bullion had 12 BBB reviews and Advantage Gold had 10. At the other end, American Hartford Gold showed 111 complaints closed in three years and Goldco 72. All ten companies held an A+ grade.
They are real customer posts, but the sample depends on who was asked. Trustpilot labels each profile with whether the company invites all customers to review. In October 2026 only Augusta Precious Metals, Noble Gold and Lear Capital carried the invite-all label; the other seven carried Trustpilot's note that the company had not invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative. Most reviews are also written right after purchase, long before the buyer has sold and seen the buyback spread.
Based on public signals checked in October 2026, Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold make the strongest case: very small BBB complaint files, every negative Trustpilot review answered, and invite-all review policies. Lear Capital and Orion Metal Exchange reply fastest to negative reviews, typically within 48 hours. American Hartford Gold replied to 11% of negative Trustpilot reviews while carrying the largest BBB complaint file we track. Test service yourself by sending each shortlisted firm the same written questions before you fund an account.
No more than any other advertising. Testimonials a company publishes about itself are selected by the company. Under the FTC rule on consumer reviews and testimonials (16 CFR Part 465, announced August 14, 2024), businesses may not publish fake testimonials, pay for reviews that express a particular sentiment, or hide insider reviews, but a genuine and carefully chosen testimonial is still a curated sample. Use independent complaint files and your own written quotes instead.
No. The BBB says its rating is its opinion of how a business is likely to interact with customers, that customer reviews are not used in the grade, and that a rating is not a guarantee of reliability. All ten companies we review held an A+ in October 2026, so the grade cannot rank them. Read the complaint texts and the company replies, compare the complaint count with the size of the business, and get the fee schedule and the dealer markup in writing.
The scoring rubric behind every review, and the evidence we collect for each pillar, is published on our how we rank gold IRA companies page. Reviews are one of four research tools here; the platform page shows how they pair with the ranked comparison, the fee calculator, and the free investor kits.
Reputation data: each company's BBB.org business profile (linked in the snapshot table) and Trustpilot company profile, all read October 5, 2026. BBB, Overview of BBB Ratings, for what the letter grade measures. FTC, final rule banning fake reviews and testimonials (16 CFR Part 465).
Fees and minimums re-read on company sites in October 2026: Birch Gold Group rollover page, Goldco rollover page, American Hartford Gold IRA page, Noble Gold IRA page, American Bullion fee offer terms, Advantage Gold FAQ, Orion Metal Exchange IRA page, Lear Capital IRA FAQ, Patriot Gold Group IRA page. Augusta's site blocked automated access when we checked in October 2026, so its figures carry our June 2026 verification.
Rules cited: IRS Publication 590-A and 590-B; Internal Revenue Code section 408(m)(3); McNulty v. Commissioner (U.S. Tax Court, 2021). This page is educational and is not financial advice. Always confirm current pricing directly with each company.
A side-by-side breakdown of fees, minimums, and storage for our top-rated companies, plus a no-pressure consultation. No cost, no obligation.