BIRCH GOLD GROUP Up to $20,000 in Free Precious Metals Claim Offer →
// FEE BREAKDOWN · 2026

Patriot Gold Group fees in 2026: "no fees for life," and no threshold in print.

Patriot Gold Group fees come down to one promise and one blank. The promise: qualifying IRAs never pay annual storage or insurance fees. The blank: Patriot's website does not say what qualifies, what the minimum is, or what a non-qualifying account pays. We price the gap using the published schedules of the custodians Patriot lists.

By the Gold IRA Consulting Research Team
Independent gold IRA research
Primary-source verified
Patriot pages, custodian fee schedules
UPDATED OCTOBER 5, 2026 · VERIFIED OCT 2026
i

Advertising disclosure: Gold IRA Consulting is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you open an account through some links on this page (marked sponsored). This never influences our editorial scores, which are based on independent research.

THE SHORT ANSWER

On a qualifying IRA, Patriot Gold Group says you will "never pay annual fees for storage or insurance". Its IRA page adds "(Minimum Account Required)" without naming the amount. No setup, annual or storage dollar figure, IRA minimum, markup percentage or buyback policy appears anywhere on patriotgoldgroup.com as of Oct 2026.

If your account does not qualify, the bill comes from whichever custodian holds it. Patriot lists six. For three of them we loaded the published schedules. With segregated storage, which Patriot says it uses, the recurring cost works out to roughly $315 to $325 a year at GoldStar Trust or STRATA Trust. That is our arithmetic from their schedules, not a Patriot quote.

Company background and our overall score are in the full Patriot Gold Group review.

// PUBLISHED, OR NOT

What Patriot Gold Group states about cost, line by line

LINE ITEMPATRIOT'S STATEMENTSTATUS, OCT 2026ASK FOR
Annual storage and insurance"Never" charged on qualifying IRAsPublished, conditionalThe qualifying amount, in dollars
Annual custodian feeHomepage says "No Fees for Life"; the program page names only storage and insuranceUnclearWhether the custodian's annual fee is covered, and who pays it
Setup feeNo figureNOT PUBLISHEDAmount, and whether it is waived
IRA minimum"Minimum Account Required"NOT PUBLISHEDThe current figure by email
Markup over spot"Investor-direct pricing," described as among the closest to spot in the industryClaim, no numberPercentage over spot on each product
Storage typeSegregated, in private depositories insured through Lloyd's of LondonPublishedThe facility's legal name
Depository named"Texas Depository," with "Low storage rates"Published, unnamed facilityWhich Texas facility, and its rate if you do not qualify
Custodians listedEntrust Group, New Direction IRA, GoldStar Trust, Kingdom Trust, STRATA Trust, Equity InstitutionalPublishedWhich one will hold your account
BuybackNo policy foundNOT PUBLISHEDTerms, fees and how the price is set

Sources, loaded Oct 5, 2026: Patriot Gold Group homepage, precious metals IRA page, No Fees for Life page, storage page and about page. The site has no fee schedule, FAQ or terms page.

"No fees for life": what the wording covers

Patriot uses the phrase on almost every page, and the wording changes. The homepage promises "No Fees for Life on Qualifying IRAs." The gold IRA page says "Qualified IRAs." The about page drops the qualifier. The page devoted to the program is the most specific, and it is narrower than the slogan: it says you will "never pay annual fees for storage or insurance." The custodian's annual administration fee is a separate bill from a separate company, and that page does not mention it.

That may simply be loose copywriting, and Patriot may cover both. But on a 20-year account the difference is several thousand dollars, so it deserves one written answer. Ask three questions. Does the waiver cover the custodian's annual fee as well as storage? Does it continue if your balance falls below the qualifying level after a price drop or a distribution? And does it survive if you later move the account to a different custodian?

On the threshold itself, the company's site is silent, and other published reviews disagree. LendEDU reports a $0 annual fee for accounts of $100,000 or more and $250 a year for $50,000 to $99,999, with a $25,000 IRA minimum. Other review sites we saw cite different figures. We could not confirm any of them with Patriot's own material, so treat every number, including those in our own Patriot review, as a starting point for the question rather than the answer.

// IF YOU DO NOT QUALIFY

What the custodians on Patriot's list charge

Without the waiver, the annual bill is the custodian's schedule plus the depository's storage rate, usually passed through by the custodian. Three of Patriot's six partners publish precious-metals pricing we could load. Kingdom Trust blocked access, and we did not use third-party figures for it. New Direction's live site was unreachable.

CUSTODIAN (SCHEDULE DATE)SETUPANNUAL FEESTORAGE, COMMINGLED / SEGREGATEDPER TRADECLOSING
GoldStar Trust (Rev. 01/2026)$50$90$125 / $225 minimum, then $1.80 per $1,000 above $125,000No fee$150
STRATA Trust (eff. Sep 1, 2026)$50, waived online$150$115 / $175$40$250
Equity Trust (retail, Rev. 081726)$50 onlineTiered by value, from $225$110 / $160$30 per liquidation$250

Published custodian schedules, loaded Oct 5, 2026. Patriot lists "Equity Institutional" of Westlake, Ohio, where Equity Trust Company is based. We show Equity Trust's retail schedule, which may differ from the terms a dealer-referred account gets. Storage is billed by the custodian on behalf of the depository. Confirm the schedule that applies to your account.

Patriot says it uses segregated storage. On that basis, a non-qualifying account at GoldStar pays about $315 a year ($90 plus $225), and one at STRATA about $325 ($150 plus $175). Those are the recurring dollars the waiver removes. Over 20 years that is roughly $6,300 to $6,500, before any fee increases. It is a real benefit, and the number to set against the next section.

Investor-direct pricing, and the number Patriot leaves out

Patriot explains its pricing as structural. Clients deal with an owner, layers of executive and shareholder pay are cut out, and the company says the saving reaches the buyer as pricing that is among the "closest-to-spot" in the industry. The claim may be true. Patriot's pages give no percentage, product list or worked example, though, so nobody outside a quote can test it.

The spread matters most when the annual fees are zero, because it is then the only cost left. A dealer that waives $315 a year and prices metal two points wider than a competitor has moved the cost to the purchase. On a $100,000 order, two points is $2,000 on day one, about six years of the waived fees. That does not mean Patriot does this. It means the waiver can only be judged next to a spread figure. Our markup explainer shows how to read one, and the gold IRA fee calculator lets you enter a spread with a zero annual fee and see the 20-year total.

// MODELED, NOT QUOTED

Patriot Gold Group costs at $25,000, $50,000 and $100,000

SCENARIO, 20 YEARS$25,000$50,000$100,000
Recurring fees if the account does not qualify (GoldStar segregated, $315 a year)$6,300$6,300$6,300
Recurring fees if it qualifies$0, if storage and custodian are both covered$0, same condition$0, same condition
One spread at 3%, paid once$750$1,500$3,000
One spread at 6%, paid once$1,500$3,000$6,000
One spread at 25% (proof or collectible pricing), paid once$6,250$12,500$25,000

Illustrative only. Patriot publishes no spread. The 3%, 6% and 25% rows are scenarios, not estimates of its pricing. Unwaived fees use GoldStar Trust's 2026 schedule ($90 annual, $225 segregated storage minimum), held flat for 20 years. GoldStar's segregated rate rises above $125,000 of metal. The waiver rows assume the qualifying condition holds for the whole period.

On a $100,000 account, a qualifying waiver and a 3% spread cost about $3,000 over 20 years. An unwaived account and the same spread cost about $9,300. A qualifying waiver with collectible pricing costs $25,000. The waiver matters, but product choice matters more. The cheapest Patriot account is a qualifying IRA filled with plain bullion.

Storage: segregated, Texas, and one caution

Patriot's storage page features an unnamed "Texas Depository" with complete segregation, annual audits, Lloyd's of London insurance and "No set up fees, deposit or withdrawl fees." The same page lists "Low storage rates," which fits a non-qualifying account paying something. Segregated storage normally costs more than commingled. On GoldStar's schedule it is $225 against $125, so a free segregated arrangement is worth more than a free commingled one. Our segregated vs commingled guide explains the difference.

The caution is about wording on other Patriot pages. Its gold IRA comparison table promotes free storage outside an IRA and "Home Safe Storage." Those are for metal you buy with cash. Metal owned by an IRA must stay with an approved trustee or depository. The Tax Court's 2021 decision in McNulty v. Commissioner treated home-held IRA metal as distributed, and Patriot's own blog warns that home storage "could be a violation of IRS rules." Our page on home storage gold IRAs has the detail.

Leaving: buyback and closing costs

Patriot publishes no buyback policy, so there is no stated commitment, price method or liquidation fee to compare. Its risk disclosure says buyers should be ready to hold "for at least three to five years" and keep metals to no more than 20% of investable funds. It also says Patriot Gold Group, LLC and its employees do not act as fiduciaries. Closing fees come from the custodian: $150 at GoldStar and $250 at STRATA or Equity Trust on the schedules above. Ask whether the lifetime waiver covers a termination fee. It almost certainly does not, because the fee is charged on the way out. See how to sell a gold IRA for the sequence.

// ONE EMAIL, FIVE ANSWERS

What to ask Patriot for before you fund the account

  • 1The qualifying amount, and the waiver terms in writing. Get the dollar threshold, and which annual fees are covered: storage, insurance, custodian, or all three.
  • 2What ends the waiver. A balance drop, a partial distribution, a custodian change, or a change of ownership at Patriot.
  • 3The spread on every product quoted. As a percentage over spot at the time of the quote, plus a plain bullion alternative for the same amount.
  • 4Which custodian, and that custodian's schedule. Patriot lists six, and their prices differ. Read the one you will actually have.
  • 5The legal name of the Texas depository. Plus its storage rate if the waiver ever lapses.
// AGAINST THE FIELD

Patriot Gold Group fees vs Goldco, American Hartford Gold and Birch

COMPANYIRA MINIMUM ON ITS OWN SITERECURRING FEES ON ITS OWN SITEFEE RELIEF ON ITS OWN SITE
Patriot Gold GroupNOT STATEDNOT STATEDNo storage or insurance fees for life on qualifying IRAs
GoldcoNOT STATEDFlat yearly fee, amount not stated"Goldco may reimburse you for these annual fees" under current promotions
American Hartford Gold$10,000Storage varies; "might be free"Depends on account size
Birch Gold Group$5,000$235 ($125 management, $110 storage)First year paid on transfers over $50,000

Company sites loaded Oct 5, 2026: Goldco's gold IRA FAQ, American Hartford Gold's gold IRA FAQ, Birch Gold Group's precious metals IRA page. Confirm current terms directly.

Patriot's offer is the most generous in this table: a waiver with no time limit. It is also one of the least documented, tied to a threshold nobody prints. Birch is the opposite, a smaller benefit with every figure on its website. For a head-to-head on the two lifetime-style pitches, see Goldco vs Patriot Gold Group. For all ten providers, see our gold IRA fees guide.

SPONSORED · GO STRAIGHT TO THE SOURCE

Ask Patriot for the threshold in dollars.

Request the investor guide, then email the five questions above. A firm offering fees waived for life should be able to put the qualifying amount in writing.

Visit Patriot Gold Group →

VERIFIED OCT 2026 · CONFIRM CURRENT PRICING

// COST QUESTIONS, ANSWERED

Patriot Gold Group fee questions

What are Patriot Gold Group fees?

Patriot Gold Group publishes no fee schedule. Its website says qualifying IRAs will never pay annual fees for storage or insurance, under its No Fees for Life program, and that a minimum account is required, without naming the amount. If an account does not qualify, recurring costs come from the custodian. With segregated storage, published 2026 schedules put that at about $315 a year at GoldStar Trust and $325 at STRATA Trust. Verified Oct 2026.

What is the Patriot Gold Group minimum for an IRA?

Patriot's IRA page says a minimum account is required but does not state a figure. Third-party reviews disagree. LendEDU, for example, reports $25,000 for an IRA and $10,000 for a direct purchase. Patriot does not confirm any of these figures. Ask for the current minimum and the separate no-fee qualifying amount by email.

Does Patriot Gold Group really charge no fees for life?

On qualifying IRAs, Patriot says you will never pay annual storage or insurance fees. The program page does not say whether the custodian's annual administration fee is also covered, what balance qualifies, or whether the waiver continues if your balance falls. Get those three answers in writing. Setup and termination charges may still apply.

Which custodians and depository does Patriot Gold Group use?

Patriot lists six custodian partners: The Entrust Group, New Direction IRA, GoldStar Trust, Kingdom Trust, STRATA Trust and Equity Institutional. For storage it describes a segregated Texas depository insured through Lloyd's of London but does not give the facility's legal name. Ask which custodian will hold your account and read that firm's schedule.

What markup does Patriot Gold Group charge?

Patriot does not publish one. It describes its pricing as investor-direct and among the closest to spot in the industry because clients deal directly with owners. Ask for the percentage over spot on every product in your quote, and a plain bullion alternative for the same amount, before you fund the account.

Related reading: American Hartford Gold vs Patriot Gold Group and Noble Gold vs Patriot Gold Group.

SOURCES & METHOD
  • Patriot Gold Group pages linked in the first table, plus its risk disclosure, loaded Oct 5, 2026.
  • Custodian schedules: GoldStar Trust (Rev. 01/2026), STRATA Trust (#300-090126, effective Sep 1, 2026), Equity Trust (retail Rev. 081726).
  • Reputation: BBB profile, which showed an A+ rating, accreditation since April 22, 2022, and no complaints closed in the past three years on Oct 5, 2026. Third-party fee claims: LendEDU, not confirmed by Patriot.
  • Home storage: McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021), and IRC 408(m).

Could not verify: the qualifying threshold, the IRA minimum, any setup or storage dollar figure, the depository's legal name, buyback terms, and any spread figure. We found no regulator enforcement action against Patriot Gold Group in searches of public sources. Modeled figures are ours and labeled as such. This is education, not financial advice.

// BEFORE YOU FUND ANYTHING

A waiver is only as good as its terms

Our free kit has the fee and minimum data for every provider we score, plus a checklist for testing promotional offers before you sign.

Get the free kit → Compare all rankings