Gold IRA promotions come in three shapes: bonus metal on a qualifying purchase, years of waived custodian and storage fees, and small account credits. Searches for a free gold IRA kit with a free gold bar usually end at one of these. None is attached to the kit itself, almost all bonus metal is silver, and every one of them starts at a purchase size, most often $50,000. We loaded each company's own offer page and terms on October 5, 2026, and this page prints what they say, what they leave out, and how to price the result.
Advertising disclosure: Gold IRA Consulting is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you open an account through some links on this page (marked sponsored), including the Birch Gold Group banner above. This never influences our editorial scores, which are based on independent research.
Listed in our overall ranking order. Every figure was read on the company's own site on October 5, 2026, and each row links to the page we read. Where a company states an offer without a qualifying amount, the cell says so; we do not fill gaps with estimates. Offers change often, so treat this as a dated snapshot and get the live terms in writing.
| COMPANY | PROMOTION AS ADVERTISED | QUALIFYING MINIMUM | CONDITIONS STATED | WHERE IT GOES |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birch Gold Group | "Up to $20,000 in Precious Metals for FREE with Purchase" (landing page). Linked terms: $500 of metals on $50,000 to $99,999.99; $1,000 on $100,000 to $249,999.99; $2,500 on $250,000 to $999,999.99; $10,000 on $1,000,000 or more | $50,000 purchase | Eligible metal types only; you must mention the offer to your specialist; program can end without notice | IRA purchases: the depository. Cash purchases: shipped to you |
| Augusta Precious Metals | Up to 10 years of custodian and depository fees paid by Augusta, as described by review sites; not on Augusta's own fee sheet, so get the term and qualifying amount in writing. No bonus-metal offer; its kit includes a guide on how free silver offers work | $50,000 account minimum (kit page) | "Up to": the number of years for a given account is not published | Fee relief, not metal |
| Goldco | "Up to 5% back in FREE Silver" on $50,000 to $99,999; "10% in FREE Silver" on $100,000 or more (homepage) | $50,000 purchase | Purchases of "Goldco premium coins" or "premium products"; cannot be combined with other offers; "additional rules may apply"; details in the customer agreement | Not stated on the public page |
| American Hartford Gold | Homepage: "Up To $15,000 in FREE Silver On Qualifying Purchases" (homepage). Specials page: "Up To $5,000 In Free Silver" and "Up To 3 Years With No IRA Fees: No Transfer, Storage Or Maintenance Fees" (current specials) | NOT PUBLISHED | Qualifying purchase terms are given by a specialist, not on the page | Not stated on the public page |
| Lear Capital | "Request your FREE Precious Metals Investor Kit and we'll immediately add $500 to your account"; also lists "Free IRA Set-up and Storage" (homepage) | Not stated for the $500 credit; for set-up and storage fees its IRA FAQ lists first year free from $25,000, two years from $50,000, three from $75,000, and the $50 set-up covered above $10,000, on limited-mintage coins only (verified Oct 2026) | The $500 "can be used for shipping, insurance charges or IRA custodial fees" | Account credit, not metal |
| Patriot Gold Group | "No Fees for Life on Qualifying IRAs" and "Free Silver Coin With Phone Qualification" (homepage) | NOT PUBLISHED | What qualifies is not defined on the page | Not stated |
| American Bullion | "Free Storage and $0 Custodian Account Fees for the 1st Year" (homepage) | NOT PUBLISHED | The offer carries an asterisk; we could not find the footnote text on the page | Fee relief, not metal |
| Noble Gold, Advantage Gold, Orion Metal Exchange | No promotion advertised on the homepage when we checked; each offers a free guide or investor kit only | N/A | Ask directly; absence on the homepage does not rule out an offer on a call | N/A |
All rows verified Oct 2026 on the linked company pages. Seasonal offers that had already ended by our check date are covered in the next section, not in this table. Our ranking order (Birch Gold Group, Augusta, Goldco, American Hartford Gold) is explained on the scoring method page and is not affected by who runs the largest promotion.
Phrases like free gold IRA kit with free gold or free gold IRA kit with free gold bar describe something that, as far as we can find, does not exist in the form the words suggest. No company we checked sends metal in exchange for a kit request. The kit is a lead form; the metal is a purchase incentive, and the two are marketed side by side because the second makes the first more clickable.
When the bonus is metal, it is overwhelmingly silver. Silver lets a dealer quote a large-sounding dollar figure in coins that cost far less per unit than gold, and themed silver rounds can be sourced in volume. Birch Gold Group's recent seasonal campaigns illustrate the pattern: a June 2026 Independence Day promotion gave one 1 oz America's 250th Birthday-themed silver round for every $10,000 purchased, to new and existing customers, through July 10, 2026, "while supplies last," according to the company's press release. With silver around $60 an ounce in early October 2026, that is roughly 0.6 percent of the qualifying purchase at melt value.
The real gold exception is worth knowing about because it is the one people half-remember. Birch's Black Friday 2025 campaign offered "a free gold bar for every $20,000 of precious metals purchased" on orders placed from November 10 to December 22, 2025, for home delivery or inside an IRA, per its announcement. The release did not state the size of the bar. That matters: with gold above $4,000 an ounce, a bar worth even 1 percent of a $20,000 order would weigh around a twentieth of an ounce. That offer has ended, and we found no gold-bar offer live on any company site on October 5, 2026.
A dealer has two places to recover the cost of a bonus: the price you pay for the metal and the price it pays when you sell. Neither is published by any gold IRA company we track, and both are where a promotion is paid for. Our page on gold IRA markups sets out the regulator's reference bands: the CFTC's customer advisory describes bullion priced at spot plus a premium of between 5 and 10 percent, and numismatic coins at 40 to 200 percent above spot.
Read Goldco's terms with that in mind. The silver bonus is paid on "Goldco premium coins," not on any IRA-eligible bullion. We do not know Goldco's markup on those coins, because it is not published, and we will not guess. What we can say is that the bonus is attached to a product category chosen by the dealer, and a premium product with a wider spread can carry a 10 percent rebate and still cost more than plain bullion with none.
Fee waivers are funded differently. A custodian still bills for administration and a depository still bills for storage; when a dealer says it pays those fees, it is spending its own margin from the metal sale. Augusta's fee sheet shows its standard fees as a $50 one-time setup, $125 a year for the custodian and $100 a year for storage, or $225 a year after the first year (verified Oct 2026). Ten years of that is $2,250, the most an "up to 10 years" waiver of the kind review sites describe could be worth at that schedule; the waiver itself is not on the fee sheet, so treat it as unconfirmed until you have it in writing. On Augusta's $50,000 minimum, $2,250 equals 4.5 percent of the purchase, spread over a decade.
Take a $100,000 rollover and two hypothetical quotes. Quote A carries a 10 percent silver bonus but requires a coin priced 30 percent over spot, and the bonus silver is valued at a retail price 40 percent over its melt. Quote B is plain one-ounce bullion at 6 percent over spot with no promotion. These markups are illustrative inputs, not any company's actual pricing.
| LINE | QUOTE A: 10% BONUS, 30% MARKUP | QUOTE B: NO BONUS, 6% MARKUP |
|---|---|---|
| Cash spent | $100,000 | $100,000 |
| Metal bought, at spot value | $76,923 ($100,000 divided by 1.30) | $94,340 ($100,000 divided by 1.06) |
| Bonus silver, at melt value | $7,143 ($10,000 retail divided by 1.40) | $0 |
| Total metal value on day one | $84,066 | $94,340 |
| Difference | Quote B leaves you about $10,274 better off, despite having no promotion | |
Where the break-even sits. Hold Quote B at 6 percent and solve for the markup at which Quote A stops winning. With the bonus worth $7,143 at melt, Quote A only comes out ahead if the qualifying coins cost less than about 14.7 percent over spot, a gap of roughly 8.7 percentage points. If the bonus were valued at full melt with no retail padding, the break-even rises to about 18.6 percent. For Birch's lowest tier, $500 on a $50,000 order, the bonus is 1 percent of the purchase and a markup gap of just over one percentage point (7.1 percent against 6 percent) erases it entirely.
Fee waivers can be priced the same way. A ten-year Augusta waiver, if granted, would be worth at most $2,250 on a $50,000 account, 4.5 percent of the purchase, so a quote about four and a half points wider than a competitor's on identical bullion would consume the decade of waived fees on day one. The waiver is still real money; it is simply worth no more than the markup difference it competes with.
The method in one line: ask every company for spot, the per-item price, and the melt value of any bonus in one written quote, then compare total metal value at spot. The four-line email on our markups page gets you most of those numbers, and the fee calculator handles the recurring side.
This is the part of gold IRA promotions that marketing never addresses, and we want to be careful with it, because the IRS has not, as far as we can find, issued guidance on dealer metal bonuses specifically. What follows is the framework, not a ruling. Before accepting any bonus outside the account, consult a tax professional.
IRS Publication 590-A defines a prohibited transaction as "any improper use of your traditional IRA account or annuity by you, your beneficiary, or any disqualified person," and lists buying property for personal use with IRA funds among its examples. If the owner engages in one, "the account stops being an IRA as of the first day of that year" and is treated as distributed at fair market value (IRS Pub. 590-A; also the IRS page on IRA prohibited transactions).
The same publication shows how narrowly the IRS treats gifts for opening an account. Payments by the IRA's trustee to you for establishing or adding to a traditional IRA are exempt only if their total fair market value in a year is no more than $10 for deposits under $5,000, or $20 for deposits of $5,000 or more. That exemption is written for the trustee, meaning the custodian, not the metals dealer, and a $500 to $10,000 bonus is far beyond it.
For the wider pattern behind aggressive pitches, see our page on gold IRA scams, and take the questions to ask a gold IRA company into any call where a promotion is mentioned.
Most promotions are advertised on the same page as a kit request form, which is why searches blend the two. Birch's $20,000 landing page is a request form for its information kit; Goldco's kit page promises to show "how you can instantly get 10% in FREE SILVER"; Lear credits $500 when you ask for its investor kit. Requesting the kit costs nothing and commits you to nothing, but it does hand over a phone number with consent to automated calls. Our free gold IRA kit guide explains what each kit contains and what happens after you submit, and our comparison of the best free gold IRA kits lines up every kit beside the offer it is paired with.
The kit is free. The metal is not attached to the kit at all: it is attached to a qualifying purchase, usually starting at $50,000. Nearly every bonus we found this session is silver, not gold. The one recent gold example is Birch Gold Group's Black Friday 2025 promotion, which offered a gold bar of unstated size for every $20,000 purchased between November 10 and December 22, 2025, per the company's press release. Requesting a kit alone has never earned a bar in any offer we have read.
Three kinds, as checked on company sites in October 2026. Bonus metal on a qualifying purchase: Goldco offers 5 percent in silver on $50,000 to $99,999 and 10 percent on $100,000 or more of its premium coins, and Birch Gold Group's terms list $500 to $10,000 in metals on purchases from $50,000. Fee waivers: review sites describe Augusta Precious Metals paying up to 10 years of custodian and depository fees, though that term is not on Augusta's own fee sheet, and American Hartford Gold advertises up to 3 years with no IRA fees. Account credits: Lear Capital advertises $500 added to your account when you request its kit, usable for shipping, insurance or custodial fees.
Birch Gold Group's affiliate landing page advertises up to $20,000 in precious metals free with purchase, with a $50,000 minimum and a requirement to mention the offer to your specialist. The terms page that landing page links to, checked October 2026, lists four tiers: $500 of metals on $50,000 to $99,999.99, $1,000 on $100,000 to $249,999.99, $2,500 on $250,000 to $999,999.99, and $10,000 on $1,000,000 or more. Those tiers top out at $10,000, not $20,000, so ask a representative in writing which schedule applies to your order.
If it is earned by an IRA purchase, ask for it to go into the IRA's depository account instead. Birch Gold Group's terms say IRA bonuses go to the depository and cash-purchase bonuses go to the customer. A personal benefit received because of an IRA transaction can raise prohibited transaction questions, and IRS Publication 590-A only exempts small payments by the IRA trustee of $10 or $20 a year. We found no IRS guidance addressing dealer metal bonuses specifically, so get the delivery terms in writing and consult a tax professional before accepting metal at home.
Convert everything to melt value. Ask for the spot price, the per-item price of what you are buying, and the melt value of the bonus metal, all in one written quote. Then price the same dollar amount in plain one-ounce bullion with no promotion. If the promotional order leaves you with less metal at spot value, the bonus was paid for by the markup. A 10 percent silver bonus valued at retail can be erased by a markup gap of roughly 9 percentage points, and a 1 percent bonus by a gap of about one point.
Related reading: the full gold IRA fee breakdown, Birch Gold Group's fee schedule, our Goldco review, and the 2026 provider rankings.
Company offers were read on each company's own pages on 5 October 2026. Quotation marks reproduce their wording. Where a page states an offer without terms, we print the absence. Worked examples use illustrative markups, not quotes from any named company.
Nothing here is investment or tax advice. Where we say a question is unresolved, consult a tax professional before acting.
Start with the companies whose fees and terms are published, then ask each one for the same order in plain bullion. Our 2026 rankings show where each one stands.