One of these firms will not open an account for you below $50,000 but prints a fee sheet that is cheaper to hold. The other starts at $20,000, hands you a genuine choice of vault including one in Texas, and now publishes its fees too, though its two fee pages disagree slightly. That trade, a high gate with lower running costs against a lower gate with a choice of vault, is the whole of this comparison, and your existing balance resolves most of it before you read a word further.
Advertising disclosure: Gold IRA Consulting is reader-supported. We may earn a commission when you open an account through some links on this page (marked sponsored). This never influences our editorial scores, which are based on independent research.
If you are moving $50,000 or more and you want every figure in front of you before you sign anything, take Augusta Precious Metals: $50 to open and $225 a year flat on its own fee sheet (verified Oct 2026). Review sites also describe a custodian and storage waiver of up to ten years, but Augusta's fee sheet and FAQ do not state it, so count it only if Augusta puts it in writing. If your balance sits between $20,000 and $50,000, Augusta is closed to you at any price and Noble Gold Investments wins by being the only one of the two that will take the account, with a real choice of depository as a bonus rather than a consolation.
On cost we will say plainly what the table below says: Augusta is the cheaper account over ten years on every figure either company publishes, by roughly $530 to $630 on a $50,000 balance. Noble Gold's gold IRA page lists $50 setup, $30 wire, $125 maintenance and $160 storage ($285 a year), while its support FAQ quotes $80 setup and $275 a year, so ask which applies before you fund.
Nothing below is estimated. Where a company publishes a number we print it, and where it does not we print NOT PUBLISHED rather than filling the gap with something plausible. Two of the rows come out close, and one of them (the custodian) matters more than most buyers realise.
| WHAT YOU ARE COMPARING | AUGUSTA PRECIOUS METALS | NOBLE GOLD INVESTMENTS |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum investment | $50,000 for cash and IRA orders (company FAQ), the highest gate among the providers we rank | $20,000 for a gold or silver IRA, $10,000 for cash purchases (gold IRA page). Older third-party figures of $2,000 are out of date |
| One-time setup fee | $50 | $50 on its gold IRA page; $80 in its support FAQ. Plus a $30 wire fee |
| Annual custodian plus storage | $125 custodian and $100 storage, $225 a year flat | $125 maintenance and $160 storage, $285 a year flat (support FAQ: $125 plus $150 segregated, $275) |
| Custodian you inherit | Third-party IRS-approved trust company; the fee sheet prices an Equity Trust example | Support FAQ names Equity Trust (Equity Institutional) for gold IRAs and New Direction IRA Services for silver IRAs |
| Depository | Delaware Depository, with segregated storage offered | Your pick of the Delaware Depository or International Depository Services in Texas, with a Canadian facility also referenced |
| Buyback program | Yes. The company states it has never declined to repurchase a client's metals. Not a contractual guarantee of price | Yes. The company states it will repurchase metal it sold. A commercial commitment rather than a guaranteed price |
| Current promotion | Review sites describe custodian and storage fees covered for up to 10 years on qualifying accounts; not stated on Augusta's fee sheet or FAQ | NONE ADVERTISED on its gold IRA page or support FAQ |
| Better Business Bureau | A+ rating. Check the live BBB profile | A+ rating, accredited since 2017, around five complaints on file. Check the live BBB profile |
| Best for | Balances above $50,000 that want auditable pricing, segregated storage and a teaching-led onboarding | Balances of $20,000 to $50,000, and anyone who wants to choose the vault their metal sits in |
Source: Augusta's fee sheet and FAQ (archived copies of Augusta's own pages) and Noble Gold's gold IRA page and support FAQ, verified Oct 2026; other cells from the published company material behind our full Augusta Precious Metals review and Noble Gold Investments review, verified Jun 2026. Confirm current pricing directly before you fund an account. A cell marked not published records an absence of disclosure we could verify, not an accusation. Reputation cells reference the Better Business Bureau, whose ratings and complaint counts change over time.
We use $50,000 because it is the smallest balance at which both companies will actually take you, which makes it the only figure where a like-for-like comparison exists. Augusta's first column is arithmetic on its own fee sheet; its second models the up-to-ten-year waiver that review sites describe and Augusta's fee sheet does not state. Noble Gold's column is arithmetic on its gold IRA page, with its support FAQ version in brackets.
| HOLDING PERIOD | AUGUSTA, FEE SHEET | AUGUSTA, IF A FULL WAIVER WERE GRANTED | NOBLE GOLD, PUBLISHED FIGURES |
|---|---|---|---|
| First year | $275 ($50 setup plus $225) | $50 (setup only) | $365 ($355 on its support FAQ) |
| Five years | $1,175 | $50 | $1,505 ($1,455) |
| Ten years | $2,300 | $50 | $2,930 ($2,830) |
Illustrative only, not a quote from either company. Augusta figures are arithmetic on its fee sheet ($50 setup, $125 a year custodian, $100 a year storage); the waiver column is hypothetical, because Augusta's own fee sheet and FAQ do not state a waiver, its qualifying size or its term. Noble Gold figures are arithmetic on its gold IRA page ($50 setup and one $30 wire in year one, then $285 a year) and, in brackets, its support FAQ ($80 setup, then $275 a year). All verified Oct 2026 and assumed flat for the period. All four columns exclude the dealer markup over spot, which is usually larger than a decade of fees. Run your own numbers with the gold IRA fee calculator.
Competition in this category involves a lot of pages that build a cost table and then recommend whichever company pays them best, regardless of what the table just said. We are not going to do that, so here is the plain reading.
Augusta wins on cost, on every figure either company publishes. Against its own fee sheet with no waiver at all, ten years runs to about $2,300. Noble Gold's own figures put the same decade at $2,830 to $2,930, so Augusta is cheaper by roughly $530 to $630 before any waiver. If Augusta granted the ten-year waiver review sites describe, the decade would cost about the price of one dinner out, but that waiver is not on Augusta's fee sheet or FAQ, so do not count it until it is in writing.
Keep the size of that gap in proportion. It works out at about $50 to $60 a year, or a little over 1 percent of a $50,000 balance across a decade, which is less than a single point of dealer markup on the same account. Do not choose Noble Gold expecting to save money; on the published numbers it costs slightly more to hold. Choose it for the vault or for the entry point.
One structural note in Noble Gold's favour, because it is genuine: both firms charge flat annual amounts rather than a percentage of your balance. That is the correct model and the two of them share it. A percentage fee quietly takes more from you every year the metal appreciates, and over twenty years it can cost more than every promotion in this industry combined. Our guide to gold IRA fees works through why that structure matters more than the headline number.
Lower running costs on a single fee sheet. Augusta's fee sheet states $50 to open, $125 a year for the custodian and $100 a year for storage, priced on an Equity Trust example. Noble Gold now publishes figures as well, but its gold IRA page and support FAQ disagree on the setup fee and the storage line, so you still need one answer in writing before you know which applies. Augusta's single sheet is the cleaner disclosure, and it is $50 to $60 a year cheaper.
A possible fee waiver, if Augusta confirms it. Review sites say Augusta covers custodian and storage fees for up to ten years on qualifying accounts. We could not find that waiver, its qualifying order size or its term on Augusta's own fee sheet or FAQ, so treat it as a question to put in writing rather than a feature. If it is granted, even a partial term is worth hundreds of dollars; Noble Gold advertises no waiver at all.
Segregated storage as a default. Augusta uses the Delaware Depository and offers segregated storage, meaning the specific bars and coins bought for your account sit apart from everyone else's rather than pooled in a shared allocation. Noble Gold gives you more choice of building; Augusta gives you a clearer answer about what happens inside it. If the distinction is new to you, our storage and depository guide explains what each model means when you eventually take a distribution.
Onboarding built around teaching. Every new Augusta client is invited to a one-on-one web conference led by the firm's on-staff economic analyst, covering inflation, the case for metals and the case against them, before anyone talks about placing an order. When our researchers went through the process, fee questions were answered directly and nobody deployed the scarcity theatre that defines the worst end of this business. Noble Gold's process is also calm, which is not nothing, but it is not built to teach.
Track record and buyback confidence. Augusta states it has never declined to repurchase a client's metals. That is a commercial statement rather than a contractual price guarantee, and you should read it as such, but it is a stronger claim than anyone else in the category makes and it addresses the anxiety that actually keeps physical-metal owners up at night.
Clears $50,000 and want the numbers up front? Start with the free kit, then read our full Augusta Precious Metals review.
It will actually take your account. Start here, because it decides more comparisons than every other factor combined. A saver moving $30,000 out of an old 401(k) is not choosing between these two companies at all. Augusta's $50,000 gate closes and Noble Gold's $20,000 gate opens, and the best provider is the one that answers the phone. Between $20,000 and $50,000 this page has a single sensible recommendation, and it is Noble Gold.
You pick the vault. Most of this industry routes every client to one depository, presents it as the only option, and never mentions there was a decision. Noble Gold puts International Depository Services in Texas alongside the Delaware Depository and references a Canadian facility too. Be clear-eyed about what that buys: it does not make your metal safer, since all of these are insured, audited, professionally run commercial vaults with long records. What it buys is proximity if you ever intend to inspect holdings or take an in-kind distribution in person, a jurisdictional preference if you hold one, and the plain difference between having chosen and having been assigned.
A clean complaint record for a young firm. Noble Gold launched in 2016, which is shorter than Augusta's history, and a shorter record is a genuine consideration rather than a technicality. What it has built in that time is good: accreditation with the Better Business Bureau since 2017, an A+ rating, and around five complaints on file for a company processing retirement-sized transactions. Bear in mind that BBB accreditation is a paid membership and proves nothing by itself; the letter grade and the complaint volume are the parts carrying information.
Deliverable metal alongside the retirement account. Noble Gold also sells Royal Survival Packs, pre-selected bundles of gold and silver shipped to your door. These are not an IRA product and must never be confused for one, because taking personal delivery of metal held inside an IRA is treated as a distribution. As a separate, personal purchase sitting next to a compliant retirement account, though, it is a combination Augusta does not offer, and some buyers want exactly that.
A lower-friction process. Augusta's consultative model is a strength for most people and a cost for a few. If you already understand precious metals, know what you want to buy, and would rather not sit through a web conference to prove it, Noble Gold's lighter approach gets you funded with less ceremony.
Under $50,000, or want the Texas vault? Ask which of its two published fee sets applies, in writing, first, and read our full Noble Gold Investments review.
Choose Augusta Precious Metals if you are rolling over $50,000 or more from a 401(k), 403(b), TSP or existing IRA; if you want to know the annual cost before you make contact rather than after; if Augusta offers you a fee waiver in writing at your order size, which is a bonus rather than something its fee sheet promises; if segregated storage matters more to you than choosing the building; or if this is your first serious position in metals and you would benefit from a structured explanation before anyone quotes you a price.
Choose Noble Gold Investments if your balance is between $20,000 and $50,000, in which case Augusta is simply unavailable; if you have a considered preference about where in the country your metal sits, and the Texas option answers it; if you want a deliverable, non-IRA holding alongside your retirement account; or if you find heavily consultative onboarding tiresome and would rather move quickly.
Choose neither if you are shopping purely on the lowest published all-in annual cost, because there are providers we track with lower entry points and published schedules below $200 a year; if your balance is under $20,000, which closes both doors; or if a gold IRA would end up as more than a modest slice of your retirement plan. Metals pay no dividend and no interest, gold can trade flat or down for years at a time, and the whole return depends on price. Our full provider rankings and the side-by-side comparison chart are the fastest way to see the alternatives.
Whichever way you lean, the same three answers decide whether the decision was sound. First, which custodian will administer my account, and what is its own published fee schedule? Augusta's fee sheet uses an Equity Trust example and Noble Gold's support FAQ names Equity Trust for gold IRAs, but confirm the custodian for your account, because the custodian's schedule bills you for as long as the account exists, while a dealer promotion typically covers a fixed term. Second, what is the markup over spot on the specific products you are recommending, expressed as a percentage? That spread is almost always the largest cost of owning physical metal, it appears on no fee schedule anywhere, and a firm confident in its pricing will answer without hesitating. Third, what would you pay to buy these exact products back today? The gap between those last two answers is the real price of changing your mind.
Your balance settles it before anything else does. Augusta Precious Metals will not open an account below $50,000, so at $30,000 the question never arises and Noble Gold Investments wins by being available. Above $50,000 we prefer Augusta, because its own fee sheet is cheaper to hold: $50 to open, $125 a year for the custodian and $100 a year for storage, against Noble Gold's published $50 setup, $30 wire, $125 maintenance and $160 storage. Review sites also describe an Augusta fee waiver of up to ten years, but Augusta's fee sheet and FAQ do not state it, so do not count it unless it is in writing. Choose Noble Gold anyway if picking your own depository, including the Texas vault, is worth about $60 a year to you. Fees verified Oct 2026, confirm current pricing.
Augusta Precious Metals states a $50,000 minimum order for cash and IRA purchases alike, the highest entry point among the providers we rank. Noble Gold Investments publishes a $20,000 minimum for a gold or silver IRA and $10,000 for cash purchases with home delivery. Older third-party figures for Noble Gold of $2,000 or $10,000 for the IRA are out of date. Verified Oct 2026; confirm the current figure in writing before you plan around it.
On the figures both companies publish, Augusta Precious Metals, by roughly $50 to $60 a year. Augusta's fee sheet shows $50 to open plus $225 a year, which prices a $50,000 account at about $275 in year one and about $2,300 across ten years. Noble Gold's gold IRA page shows $50 setup, a $30 wire and $285 a year, about $365 in year one and $2,930 across ten years; its support FAQ quotes $80 setup and $275 a year, about $2,830. Review sites describe an Augusta waiver of up to ten years that would cut its decade to about $50, but Augusta's own fee sheet and FAQ do not state it. Both use flat annual fees rather than a percentage, which is the right structure. Fees verified Oct 2026; check a written quote against our fee calculator.
Both firms run calm processes, which already separates them from the worst of this category, but they teach differently. Augusta Precious Metals builds its onboarding around a one-on-one web conference led by an on-staff economic analyst, held before anybody discusses a purchase, and that structure suits a beginner who wants the case against precious metals explained as well as the case for them. Noble Gold Investments is lighter touch and lower friction, which some first-timers prefer and others find thin. The deciding factor for most beginners is not teaching style but the entry gate: at a starting balance under $50,000, Augusta is not available and the comparison ends there.
With Noble Gold Investments, yes, and it is the clearest reason to pick the company. Alongside the Delaware Depository that most of the industry uses by default, Noble Gold offers storage at International Depository Services in Texas and references a Canadian facility as well. Augusta Precious Metals uses the Delaware Depository and offers segregated storage there, meaning your specific bars and coins are held apart rather than pooled, but the vault itself is not a menu. Neither arrangement is safer than the other in any measurable sense, since both are insured, audited commercial depositories under a third-party custodian. Confirm which vault and which storage type applies to your account before you fund it.
Related reading: the full Augusta Precious Metals review, the full Noble Gold Investments review, every provider in one comparison chart, what the annual charges actually cover in our fees guide, and the mechanics of moving a 401(k) in the rollover walkthrough.
Company minimums and fee components come from each company's own pages, verified Oct 2026; depositories, buyback statements and other terms come from published company material and our independent provider dataset, verified Jun 2026. Cost projections are our own arithmetic on those published figures and are illustrative, not quotes. Confirm all pricing directly with each provider before funding an account.
Where either company publishes nothing on a criterion, this page records the absence rather than substituting an estimate. This page is education, not financial advice. Consult a licensed advisor before making decisions.
Our free 2026 investor kit includes the minimums and fee comparison behind this page, plus a printable list of the questions that separate a fair quote from an expensive one.